Study Break — Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins…

To distract myself from doing well in my classes, and other things, I decided to bake something I’ve been dying to do for awhile. Poppy Seeds! I grew up on blueberry muffins so believe it or not I didn’t try poppy seed muffins until a few years ago. And it was instant love when I did. So I found a nice recipe from The Kitchenarian and then just made my own glaze from fresh blueberry juice, whipping cream, and powdered sugar (attempt #1 at glaze was lemon juice, blueberries, powdered sugar, and blue food coloring, and was hailed by my roommate as straight pinesol ha).

 

Ingredients:

2/3 cup sugar
Grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
¾ cup sour cream
2 large eggs
2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled
2 tablespoons poppy seeds

Erin Glaze: 8 blueberries, “juiced”, 2-3 tablespoons heavy whipping cream, enough confectioners sugar to form a good consistence (I don’t bake with exact numbers I just use my imagination!)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter muffin tin or use paper liners. In a large bowl, add sugar and grated lemon zest. Rub sugar and lemon together with your fingers until the sugar is moist and the aroma of lemons is strong. Whisk in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In another bowl, whisk together the sour cream, eggs, vanilla, lemon juice, and butter until well blended. Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and stir gently but quickly. Don’t over mix the batter. Add poppy seeds. Divide among the muffin cups and bake 15 – 20 minutes until the tops are golden. Let cool in pan for five minutes before gently removing muffins. Let cool completely. Mix glaze ingredients and drizzle over muffins.  Makes 12 muffins.

Eat. Enjoy. Love your life.

Leave a Reply

