1:24am. Insomnia.

Elaborate on my insomnia, or what I now believe are the very specific causes behind my insomnia. The former feels better in my sleep-deprived, distracted mind.

Of course, trying to best put my years of course work to the test, I decided to find out why I can’t sleep anymore. Scientific method status.

At first, I had no idea. I’ve been sick all week, I took both a melatonin and Tylenol PM, yet no sleep. Two nights ago was worse, I was up until 2am, despite having to get up at 7am for work the next morning.

This morning I thought I had found the solution: tea.

I thought surly that the 3-4 cups of delicious mandarin green tea I had been injecting before bed contained caffeine. Surely that could be the reason for sleep despite sincere efforts on behalf of my barbituates to knock me out.

But. Tealess I sit, and still no sleep.

Which bring me to theory B, although this one I feel nearly incapable of testing. I have too much on my mind.

This tends to happen when you are balancing school, work, sorority, organizations, and a social life. But what am I suppose to do quit?

No.

Successful multitasking is the corner stone of being s successful medical professional.

Or is it…

Everything I have learned or that has been lecture to me in the past 3 years says yes. But really? I’ve spent my good amount of time in doctors offices, both in the hospital and private practice. At least from my point of view, I don’t see a whole lot of multitasking going on… So why has medical school become a competition of first and foremost GPA and MCAT. But then a battle of who can do the most stuff? How is this, realistically going to help me be a better doctor? I get that medical experience is good, and that community service demonstrates that you have an interest in the greater good of society, not just your bank account. But beyond that? To go straight into medical school, no years off. You apply just at the end of your junior year. This means 3 years and 2 summers of completely and totally preparing yourself as a well-rounded applicant. But is it realistic, to complete, seriously and thoroughly, each basic extracurricular requirement for med school in that amount of time?

Statistics are starting to say no.

Over the past 4 years the average age of a first year medical student has raised from 24 to 25. I will be applying at age 20. Accepted (hopefully) and starting school at age 21.

This puts me in the 5th percentile for age.

Ask any doctor over 50 how many students they remember from their class that took a year off between undergrad and med school.

So what does this mean for me?

Will I have an edge? Will med schools look at me as more “driven” than other students, more “certain” of my desired future? Or will they disregard age completely, looking solely at my academic record and extracurricular accomplishments?

For now, all this really means is that I have a full plate, and I’m pretty sure that’s what is keeping me from getting to sleep at night.

Leave a Reply

